Manchester United

1878 as Newton Heath LYR FC
Old Trafford, Sir Matt Busby Way, Manchester, M16 0RA
Premier League
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Ryan Giggs, David Beckham, Eric Cantona, Bryan Robson, George Best, Bobby Charlton, Denis Law, Duncan Edwards

Manchester United is the most successful team in England, winning the League Championship a record 20 times.  The club also holds the record for number of FA Cup wins (11) though their haul of 3 European Cup/Champions League victories is still bettered by Liverpool FC with 6.

The club was formed in 1878 as Newton Heath, changing its name to Manchester United in 1902 and moving to their current ground, Old Trafford in 1910.

They were the first English side to compete in the European Cup in 1957 reaching the semi finals but in 1958 they were struck by tragedy when, travelling home from a European Cup fixture in Belgrade their plane crashed on take-off in Munich, killing 23 people including 8 first team players.

Busby rebuilt his side from the ashes of this tragedy triumphing ten years later in the European Cup final at Wembley with a side containing one of the survivors of that plane crash, Bobby Charlton.  With this win, United became the first English side to win the European Cup.

The club embarked on another period of unprecedented success in 1986 when it appointed current manager Sir Alex Ferguson.  Though his first years at Old Trafford were not successful he won the FA Cup in 1990 and the European Cup Winners Cup against FC Barcelona in 1991.

Since his appointment in 1986, United have won 13 league titles, 5 FA Cups and 2 European Cups as well as the European Cup Winners Cup. They also won the FA Cup and league double 1994 and 1996 and the treble (with Champions league in 1999).

With Sir Alex Ferguson retiring at the end of the 12/13 season, United has appointed another serial winner in Jose Mourinho, can he bring the title back to Old Trafford next season?