Premier League
Jurgen Klopp
Bill Shankly, Bob Paisley, Roger Hunt, Emlyn Hughes, Kevin Keegan, Kenny Dalglish, Ian Rush, Phil Neal, Steven Gerrard, Jamie Carragher

Liverpool FC were founded in 1892 and admitted to the football league a year later.  Up until 2011 they were the most successful English club in both English and European competition with 18 League Championship and 6 European Cup/Champions league victories.  Although Manchester United have overtaken Liverpool's total domestically, Liverpool remain the most successful English team in Europe.

The club's most successful years were in the decades of the 1970s and 1980s when Liverpool were the dominant force in English football and also won 4 European Cups, reaching the final on two other occasions. 

The 1980s also brought tragedy with both the Heysel disaster where 39 Juventus fans died after a wall collapsed before the 1985 European Cup final in Brussels and four years later when 96 of Liverpool's own fans tragically passed away before Liverpool played Nottingham Forest in the FA Cup Semi final at Hillsborough in Sheffield.

Liverpool had to wait 20 years for another appearance in a European Cup final when they played AC Milan in Istanbul.  It was one of the greatest ever European Cup Finals with Liverpool coming back from a 3-0 half time deficit to draw 3-3 after extra time and win the cup on penalties. 

Jurgen Klopp took over from Northern Irishman Brendan Rodgers and has built a squad that pushed Manchester City all the way to the final day in 2018/19 and then triumphed in the Champions League for the club's sixth European Cup/Champions League victory.